#Friday Reads- The Handmaid’s Tale

So, I really really wanted to like this book, and maybe I would have it I had not listened to it rather than read it in paper form. I remember reading Margaret Atwood, the Cat’s Eye in college and liking it. For some reason I had a hard time focusing on this story and when I was able to focus I was so saddened and horrified of all these women had to go through.

I struggle writing reviews of books I don’t love. I envision the author and the people that were inspired by the book and who am I to say different? Maybe I just wasn’t in the right space for the specific genre or character. Possibly listening to the audio doesn’t provide the same meaning as sitting and reading the book. I imagine the hard work and dedication the author put into the story and becoming published.  Although it may be silly I simply cannot stop reading a book even if I’m not in love with it. The eternal optimist within me is reminded that sometimes a fantastic story doesn’t truly begin until 100 or 150 pages.

I was reading a post the other day from a fellow literary blogger @libbyvine and she talks about giving herself permission to stop a book and pick up another. You can check out the blog by clicking on Confessions from a wannabe librarian.

Does anyone else struggle with putting aside a book once you’ve started? Do you push through or are you ok with swapping out? I’d love to know!

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “#Friday Reads- The Handmaid’s Tale

  1. I have totally put down books and started another because I dislike the idea of dreading a book and not reading over not finishing. Sometimes I am able to go back and finish or do it on audio etc.
    I applaude you being able to finish them all !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting, as this is also one of the books, with which I struggled. I love a number of her other books, particularly the Edible Woman, which is such a strong early work by her.

    Thank you for your honesty in this review; it’s refreshing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I too will read a bad book to the end. An elderly patron at the library once told me “it’s because your still young, once your an old lady you know there are too many good books to waste your time on one you don’t love” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

