I’m Off the Clock! #FridayFinds

Mom.jpg

I love how my boys, (ages 7 and 9) are becoming more independent. This may mean I have more time but for some reason I feel like I have less. It may be just the whole grass is greener on the other side nostalgia creeping in thinking of the days when they napped and went to bed at 7:30 pm. Well now life is filled with school, play-dates, piano lessons, homework, hockey, baseball, soccer, play and reading! One thing that I didn’t realize is that when they get older they don’t sleep as much! SHOCKER. So now bedtime is seeping into my little me time. So I’m sorry my dear little men, but since you’ve pushed your bedtime to 8:30-8:45 and I’m just sitting down for the first time today, I just want to say sorry, I love you but no. I’m off the clock! Yes I’d be happy to be called in for an emergency but if it isn’t, sorry I am just saying you can do it yourself.

There seems to be a string of never ending requests that happen once I finally sit down-

Mom this isn’t where I was on my audio book- I need you to keep pressing forward and back until we find the exact right spot. Oh, I forgot I already finished this book and need a new CD.

Mom I need some water, Oh I see it, but Mom I can’t reach it, can you get it.

Mom can you read just one more book?

Mom I can’t sleep, what should I do?

Mom my blanket fell off, can you tuck me in again?

I’m tired and need to say, sorry, unless something is seriously wrong if you need anything you’ll have to ask prior to 8:30.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids, I want to do all that I can for them. But man, it’s hard working and being Mom.

Would I change it, not for the world.¬†Sometimes I am simply reminded how difficult parenting is and how much patience is needed. So this week, my #FridayFind is the lack of patience I often experience parenting while I’m running on empty.

I would love to hear your strategies on staying sane when you’re running low on patience.

8pm.jpg

One thought on “I’m Off the Clock! #FridayFinds

  1. I feel you dear. It’s really hard to keep up with the kids this generation. We cannot just convince them to do something with just one look or even diplomatic words. It won’t work that way, sadly. Until now I am still struggling with finding an approach that would balance my time and relationship with my children and instill to them values that would make them better persons. Good luck to us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

