Movies of Books

Tonight my boys and I went out to the movies and we saw Alice Through the Looking Glass.

As we were sitting watching the previews I was struck by how many books are becoming popular movies. Coincidentally this weekend my sister sent me a text that she found our favorite childhood series The Box Car Children on DVD.

I have to be honest, I’m not quite sure on my stance on this trend. I almost always prefer the book over the movie however I do admit that it is interesting to watch a different perspective of childhood classic literature. I remember reading and loving Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. It has been MANY years since I was brought back into wonderland and I really enjoyed tonight’s movie. I sat back remember the way the books played out in my young imagination and how they really came alive through cinematography, acting, and music on the big screen.

 

We also saw a preview of the BFG- if you read one of my early posts from this winter you will know this is a favorite in our house. Even now we are reading the book Holes and the boys are excited to rent (yes we do have to rent-aka borrow from our local library) the movie once we finish the book.

So part of me, the purist book lover, feels that no way, we should always read the book and stick with that. But today when  my 9 year old looked up from the film and asked if we can get the book I thought, why yes, I guess this is okay. If the movie is good that can make a child want to also read the book, I am good with that.

I would love to hear what you think about movies of books.

Happy reading… and watching?

2 thoughts on “Movies of Books

  1. I don’t watch movies very often but if they inspire others to want to go and check out the book afterwards that’s fantastic. I love to pick up a book and just relax in a quiet place.

    Like

  2. I think it can be difficult for viewers and for the film-makers, especially when you consider how well-known and well-loved some of the originals are (take Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings for instance), I think this is made harder again when the films are trying to be faithful to the text. On the other hand you get films that play much more freely with the story, such as Clueless, which is based on Jane Austen’s ‘Emma’, and those can be really fun to watch. Adaptation in general fascinates me (oddly enough my most recent post was also around this topic) and I agree that if the film can encourage people to read it can only be a good thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

